Key Peninsula Boy Scout Troop 220 newly minted Eagle Scouts share a moment with their families shortly after receiving their new Eagle bandanas. Photo by Hugh McMillan, KP news

Sunday, Sept. 14, the Key Peninsula Civic Center was awash with parents, siblings, friends and supporters of Boy Scouts, seven of whom from Key Peninsula Boy Scout Troop 220 were feted at their Court of Honor to receive promotion to the highest rank in scouting, that of Eagle.

A PowerPoint program projected overhead near the stage displayed the scouts going through the many activities which earned the merit badges and other awards leading to this high point of their scouting careers.

They were shown sleeping in snow caves they dug in the Cascades, hiking, biking, canoeing and kayaking, building projects for local parks, presenting the colors at the annual KP Lions-sponsored Citizens of the Year Awards ceremony, helping with the annual KP Veterans’ Aisle of Honor at the Vaughn Cemetery. There were images of them blazing trails for the KP Lions annual Volksmarch, unloading at the KP Food Bank hundreds of items of non-perishable foods the Troop collects each holiday season, and shots of many other good deeds.

After being welcomed by Troop 220’s AJ Holloway, the Troop’s Honor Guard presented the colors followed by Scout mom Cindy Barry’s invocation.

Assistant Scoutmaster Spencer Wiklund opened the proceedings and individual scouts presented each part of the Scouts’ Law and Oath by hanging a plaque representing each on the stage wall and lighting a candle for each. Assistant Scoutmasters Glen Pszczola and Matthew Mills described the Troop’s history and an icy venture on Mt. Rainier respectively.

Eagle candidates Michael Odell, Alex Ramirez, Evan Pernu, Kelson Mills, Jon Crane, Kevin Pszczola, and Ryan Barry held the audience with statements of gratitude for those who made it all possible. The Eagle Charge was presented by Eagles Jon Hanisch, Scott Odell and Luke Vander Poel, followed by Assistant Scoutmasters John Odell and Gil Ramirez pronouncements of the Eagle Scout Promise.

Assistant Scoutmasters Steve Goins and Wiklund had the honor of presenting the new Eagle Awards and Assistant Scoutmaster Mark Burris handed each new Eagle his plaque denoting their monumental accomplishment.

Following the benediction by mom Mary O’Boyle, under the direction of Scout Mitchell Nelson, the Honor Guard retired the colors.

Thereafter, munching on cupcakes and other goodies, the new Eagles modestly accepted the congratulations of their many admirers in a convivial mingling of happy Scouts and friends.